Journal VNs in Japanese: updates

Eden*These are some updates to my Broaden your view: Reading VNs in Japanese post. I added new VNs to read and wrote my thoughts on a new VN I started. I also added this content to that post. 

Next to Gekkou no Carnevale I started reading Eden* They Were Only Two, On The Planet. It is a supposedly short and not too difficult kinetic novel that used to be all-ages. In 2009 an 18+ patch has been released, this means you have the choice to read it with or without H-scenes. I will be reading Eden* without them because the original story is written like that. I am not experienced enough to distinguish differences in writing styles in Japanese, but I do notice it is a different style compared to Gekkou no Carnevale. I actually had some trouble reading it the first hours. It took me a long time to figure out what the characters exactly wanted to say.
After searching and asking around a bit I noticed I was thinking too hard on it. I am still reading too much like a “non-japanese person”, how weird that may sound. It is actually easier to read in whole sentences, like you’re doing automatically in your own language. While learning however you automatically read words or parts of the sentence and try to understand them before you continue with the rest. In Gekkou no Carnevale this worked out most of the times, but now I notice it is a lot easier to just “read in sentences”. I don’t have much difficulties reading and understanding Eden* anymore now I realized this.

Another thing I learned a long time ago, but what I think is hard to not do (also mentioned in Tae Kims guide): don’t try to translate to your own language/English while reading. Try to understand Japanese sentences, translating is on a whole different level: you can’t do a 1 to 1 translation of 2 languages. I really try to not do this anymore, but it is hard because you want to “convert” the words you do not understand yet into words you already understand. Punish yourself for this because you will give yourself a hard time later on if you keep procrastinating a true understanding of Japanese words and sentences. 

Planning to read this year
2. Eden* They Were Only Two, On The Planet
[reading – ~4 hours in]

Planning to read in the near future
5. Ludesia Spidering with Scraping – Kinetic novel, pretty short
6. SINCLIENT – Kinetic novel, does not look too difficult or long

Planning to read with increased experience, vocabulary and reading speed
6. J.Q.V Jinrui Kyuusai-bu ~With Love From Isotope~ –
Kinetic novel, not ready for Kanji puns and info dumping yet

Planning to read but depending on difficulty: so far difficulty unknown
10. Himawari (Blank Note)
11. Gensou no Avatar

 

One thought on “Journal VNs in Japanese: updates

  1. Awesome. I’d said on the other post that I would start reading in japanese, but my tests didn’t allow me to do this yet, since my semester ends this week. So, starting next week, I’ll make sure to start.
    Also, I totally agree with you about not translating the sentences and actually try to understand them, since, in my opinion, it’s a lot easier to grasp the idea than actually putting it on words.
    I’m looking forward to the next post ô/

Leave a Reply

